Portillo’s Chocolate Eclair Cake

26 Jan

Today I’m bringing you something so simple a child could do it. Literally guys, if you have kids get them in the kitchen to do this with you. Its very straight forward, no bake, no huge mess, nothing to worry about. Keep on reading to get the scoop (or shall I say slice)!

If you don’t have a Portillo’s in your area, I feel horrible for you. If you ever find yourself near one or passing by you need to stop and get it. Nothing better than a Chicago Style hot dog. This is the best “fast food” that exists. One of the best menu items they have is a dessert. Its called Chocolate Eclair Cake. Its worth every penny. However its super easy to make on your own and it’s always a huge hit. 

9×13 pan

4 boxes of graham crakers

3 small boxes instant vanilla pudding

heavy cream (to replace milk on pudding instructions)

chocolate frosting

Mix the pudding according to package directions, replacing the milk with heavy cream. Once the pudding is chilled, make a single layer of graham crackers on the bottom of the 9×13 pan. Spread a thin layer of the pudding over the crackers and repeat until you run out of pudding to spread or space in the pan. Finish with a layer of graham crackers on top. Slightly heat the chocolate frosting so its easy to spread. Layer the frosting over the crackers as thick as you like. Refrigerate for a few hours to set up, slice, and serve. You can keep the cake in the fridge for up to a week, though I’ve never seen one last that long.

Give it a try guys and tell me what you think! 

On another note, I really am sorry for my infrequent posting recently. My birthday and my daughters are five days apart and there have been parties to plan and a baptism and reception to plan … Just so much to do! I’ll try to post a little more frequently as life is slowing back down to a normal pace. Thanks for your patience!

Leave a comment